New Delhi. Sri Lanka have qualified for the Super 12 after winning two games in a row in the ICC T20 World Cup in the UAE and Oman. In the first round match of Group A on Wednesday, Sri Lanka defeated Ireland by 70 runs for the second consecutive victory.

Sri Lanka, who have added four points from two games, have secured a place in the Super 12 before the final game against the Netherlands. The Netherlands, who have lost two games in a row, are out of the first round. In the match between Ireland and Namibia, Namibia has secured a place in the Super 12 with a sensational victory.

Chasing Sri Lanka’s target of 172 at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Ireland lost all their wickets in 18.3 overs to score only 101 runs. For Ireland, captain Andy Bellbrin was the top scorer with 41 and Curtis Camper was the top scorer with 24. No other players were able to score double figures.

Sri Lanka’s Mahish Thikshana took three wickets while Chamika Karunaratne and Lahiru Kurma took two wickets each. Thikshana scored 17 runs in 4 overs while Lahiru scored 22 runs. Vanindu Hasarang De Shilva took one wicket for 12 runs in four overs. Dushmantha Chamira also took a wicket.

Earlier, losing the toss and batting first, Sri Lanka lost seven wickets and scored 171 runs.

Sri Lanka’s innings opener Pathum Nisaka and all-rounder Vanindu Hasaranga, who lost three wickets for eight runs, took charge. The duo shared 123 runs for the fourth wicket. Hasranga played 47 balls and scored 71 runs with the help of 10 fours and 1 six. Nisaka played 47 balls and added 61 runs with the help of 6 fours and 1 six.

Captain Dasun Sanaka hit 2 fours and 1 six in 11 balls and scored an unbeaten 21 runs. In bowling, Ireland’s Jose Little took four wickets for 24 runs in four overs and Mark Eder took two wickets.

Namibia clinched a historic victory in the ICC T20 World Cup on Wednesday after David Wise batted brilliantly and scored a half-century.

In the first round, Namibia defeated the Netherlands by 6 wickets in Group A. This is Namibia’s first victory in the T20 World Cup.

Wise, who had previously played T20 from South Africa, scored an unbeaten 66 as Namibia completed their 165-run target by losing four wickets with six balls to spare. He hit 4 fours and 5 sixes in 40 balls. JJ Smith remained unbeaten on 14 runs. Captain Gerard Erasmus added 32 runs.

Fred Klaassen of the Netherlands, Colin Ackerman, Tim van der Guten and captain Peter Seelar took one wicket each.

Earlier, after losing the toss at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Netherlands batted first and lost four wickets for 164 runs with the help of Max O’Dod’s half-century. O Dodd played 56 balls and scored 70 runs with the help of 6 fours and 1 six. Colin Ackerman scored 35 while wicketkeeper Scott Edward added an unbeaten 11 off 11 balls. Namibia’s Jan Frylink took two wickets and David Wise took one.

After the first victory, Namibia has added two points from two games. Namibia lost the first match to Sri Lanka. This is the second consecutive defeat of the Netherlands. In the first match, the Netherlands lost to Ireland.

Related News