Kathmandu:  The Chief Minister of Province No. 1 Hikmat Kumar Karki is scheduled to take the vote of confidence from the province assembly meeting today. The province assembly meeting is summoned for 1:00 pm this afternoon.

Province Assembly Secretary Gopal Prasad Parajuli said that the vote of confidence motion will be presented at the meeting and later would be tabled for decision.

Hikmat Kumar Karki
In the 93-member province assembly, UML’s Karki was appointed the chief minister with the backing of UML, CPN (Maoist Centre), Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Janata Samajwadi Party.
After taking the vote of confidence, the chief minister is likely to appoint two ministers from the Maoist Centre.
Earlier, ministers without portfolio have been appointed from UML, RPP and JSP in the Province No. 1.

Gandaki Province Chief Minister taking vote of confidence
The Chief Minister of the Gandaki Province, Khagaraj Adhikari, is taking the vote of confidence of the Province Assembly today.
UML Gandaki Province parliamentary party leader Adhikari was appointed the Chief Minister on January 9.

Province Assembly Secretariat said that the Chief Minister is scheduled to take the vote of confidence from the province assembly meeting that is commencing at 1:00 pm.

With support from 33 province assembly members, Province Chief Prithvi Man Gurung had appointed Adhikari as the Chief Minister as per the Article 168 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.
After getting the vote of confidence, the Chief Minister is expected to expand the cabinet and assign ministerial portfolios to the ministers without portfolio.

Related News